Page 8 of 9
For work started without the required permit the permit fee shall be doubled.
- When do I need to get a building permit?
When the work is more than an "ordinary repair". Any doubt, please call the Building Inspector.
- Do people research your files before they purchase a house or commercial property to see if the proper permits have been obtained and the work inspected?
- Can I do my own plumbing or gas work?
No, a licensed plumber or gas fitter must do the work, get a permit and request an inspection of the work. This ensures that the work meets Massachusetts code requirements.
- Can I do my own wiring?
No, a licensed electrician must do the work, get a permit, and request an inspection of the work. This ensures that the work meets Massachusetts code requirements.
- Who can answer my question about setback requirements and other zoning questions?
The Building Inspector. Office hours are 11-12 noon and 3:00-4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday by calling (781)762-1240, extension 202.
- Where can I get a certified plot plan?
Some, not all, are on file in the Building Inspector's Office. Please feel free to call, if you don't have one in your own files.
- Does the Building Department have any brochures that I can access?
Yes, see Residential/Commerical Info Page
- Will any penalties result if I do work without the required permits?
Yes. Building code violation is punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year, or both for each such violation. Each day during which a violation exists shall constitute a separate offense. If violation is not abated and corrected, criminal complaint filed in Dedham District Court.
Zoning by-law violation is currently $300 per day.
Plumbing/gas violation; the fee is doubled for work started without the required permit. Possible criminal complaint filed and, if applicable, revocation of license hearing requested.
Wiring violation; complaint filed with state, revocation of license hearing requested.
Norwood's fees generally are the lowest around. Visit other web sites to compare. Churches, synagogs and other places of worship are not charged a fee.
- How much does a permit cost?
Reference the Permit Fees
In short, any permit obtained for work done and the subsequent requested inspection are the best and least expensive insurance that you can buy to ensure that: #1 the work is done to code and #2 that your hard earned money is being effectively used....that you are getting what you paid for.
- Do inspectors carry identification?
Yes, feel free to ask for it.
- I'm new to Norwood, can you recommend a builder, roofing contractor, plumber, electrician, engineer, land surveyor, etc.?
No. We cannot recommend a specific contractor etc. However, as a resource tool we have assembled a list of builders, roofing contractors etc., who have done work in Norwood, that have a good reputation.
As a rule of thumb most people get an average of 3 estimates before choosing the person who will do the work.
Last Updated on Monday, 20 May 2013 16:31
|Tue, May 28th, 2013, @9:00am - 10:00AM|
Board of Health Meeting
|Tue, May 28th, 2013, @7:00pm - 09:00PM|
|Tue, May 28th, 2013, @7:15pm - 08:15PM|
Zoning Board of Appeals Meeting
|Wed, May 29th, 2013, @7:00pm - 08:00PM|
School Committee Meeting