You may register to vote in Massachusetts if:
· You are a citizen of the United States; and
· You will be at least 18 years of age on or before the next election; and
· You are a resident of Massachusetts; and
· You are not currently incarcerated by reason of a felony conviction.
If you meet the above requirements, you may register to vote online, by mail, or in-person. In order to vote in an election you must be registered 20 days prior to the election.
If you have NOT received confirmation of your voter registration or change to your registration within 2-3 weeks of completion, please contact the Town Clerk’s Office.
How do I register to vote online?
If you currently have a Massachusetts driver's license or state ID card, you may register to vote online, by using the Online Voter Registration at the Secretary of State's web site. Voter registration forms submitted online must be submitted by midnight on the date of the voter registration deadline.
How do I register to vote by mail?
If you prefer to register by mail, you may download the Voter Registration Form. The form must be completed, signed, and delivered by mail or in person to the Town Clerk’s Office. Voter Registration Forms submitted by mail must be postmarked no later than the voter registration deadline.
How do I register to vote in person?
If you would like to register in person, you may do so at the Town Clerk’s office as well as the Elections Division of the Secretary of State's office. Voter registration forms completed in person are valid as of the day that they are signed.
How do I change my voter registration address?
You must update your voter registration every time you move. If you have moved, you may update your registration by filling out a new voter registration form (see options above). If you move after the deadline to register to vote in a state election or primary, you should wait to update your registration until after the date of the election or primary and return to vote at your previous polling place in Massachusetts. State law allows you to vote from a previous address in a state election for up to six month after you have moved, as long as you have not registered elsewhere.
How do I change my political party?
If you wish to change your party enrollment, you may do so by filling out a new voter registration form (see options above). Members of political parties may vote only in their own party's primary elections. Unenrolled voters (commonly referred to as "Independents") and members of political designations or minor parties may vote in the party primary of their choice. Choosing to vote in a particular party's primary does NOT enroll you as a member of that party.