A couple getting married in the State of Massachusetts may apply for their marriage license in any Town or City Clerk's Office in the state by filling out a marriage intention.
Office hours for marriage intentions are Monday – Friday 8:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
Both parties must appear together to apply
If eithr of you are under 18 you must obtain a court order to marry
There is a 3-day waiting period for the license to be picked up - If parties cannot make the 3-day waiting period, they can go to Probate Court and apply for a court waiver. There is a $195 fee for the waiver. You must fill out the marriage intention prior to going to the court. The court waiver stays on file with the intention in the Town Clerk's Office.
The license is valid for 60 days from the date the couple came into the office to apply and may be used in any Massachusetts city or town.
If the officiant for your wedding is from another state or is not with the clergy or a Justice of the Peace, he or she must apply for and receive a one-day commission before the marriage takes place. The Commission can be obtained from the Secretary of State’s Office - State of MA One Day Marriage Designation
There is nobody at the Town Hall who performs marriage ceremonies, however there are Justices of the Peace within the town that you can contact.
Justice of The Peace Listing
What is the cost of a marriage license?
There is a $30 fee for the marriage license - Cash, Check (Massachusetts banks only) or Bank Check/Money Order - Debit/Credit cards not accepted.
What information do we need to complete the application?
Each party must provide the following information:
- Date of birth
- Intended residence after marriage
- Name of father / parent
- Name of mother / parent (including maiden name if applicable)
- Present full name
- Social Security number
- Status of previous marriages / civil unions / domestic partnerships if any
- Surname after marriage
You will also need to know the name of the person performing the ceremony, the date of your marriage and where your marriage is taking place.
Are there any special requirements if this is not my first marriage?
If you were previously married and that marriage ended through divorce, you must be sure that the divorce is final. In Massachusetts, a divorce is not considered final until 90 days after the divorce is granted, regardless of the grounds for the divorce.You do not need to present any documentation of your divorce when you file your application, but if your divorce is not final under Massachusetts law and you remarry, there may be a question to the legality of your second marriage. There are no special requirements for widows or widowers.