Child Passenger Safety
Officers Mario Costa, Brian Riley and Geoffrey Baguma are currently the three certified CPS Technicians for the Norwood Police Department. We are proud to offer Norwood residents the satisfaction of having their child safety seat installed correctly and safely.
Scheduling An Appointment:
Car seat installations are performed one Saturday per month. An appointment is necessary. You may schedule your appointment by calling 781-440-5149 and speaking with Cindy Keady. The first availability is at 8:15AM and the last availability is at 3:15PM.
Some things to consider:
If you plan on having two seats installed or require the moving of a current seat to make room for an additional one, please bring this to the attention of Cindy when scheduling an appointment. Two appointment slots may be necessary.
Please have the area where the seat is to be installed clean and free of debris prior to your appointment.
Enhanced Child Passenger Safety Law
In April 2008, Governor Deval Patrick signed Senate Bill 2018, dubbed the Booster Seat Bill, into law. Effective July 10, 2008, this enhancement of the Massachusetts Child Passenger Safety Law requires that all children riding in passenger motor vehicles must be in a Federally-approved child passenger restraint that is properly fastened and secured until they are 8 years old or over 57 inches tall. This will significantly increase the number of children who will be required to ride in a booster seat.
When children outgrow their booster seats (usually around age 8 but more importantly when they are 4 feet 9 inches tall), they can use the adult seat belt in the back seat IF the belt fits properly.
For more information please visit the Massachusetts Public Safety website.